WellRunLife

Ideas and inspiration for efficient living.

An introduction

on December 8, 2011

It’s a pleasure to finally launch online! I have been thinking about this blog and working on it for way longer than I want to admit, but the important thing is that now IT IS launched!

My name is Marie-Eve (pronounced with your best French accent). I speak and write both French and English. (Sometimes the two languages get tangled, so I welcome any constructive criticism about my syntax and grammar.) I am Canadian, but I have a special place in my heart for my American neighbours because I went to college near the U.S. capital.

I have been married to my college sweetheart for eight years and I have two young sons (so far). I also have a 7 year old useless grey tabby cat who spends his life outside because he would rather run into mean stray cats than my boys.

I have a bachelor’s degree that I thought it was a good idea to pursue when I was 17. It landed me a husband, some dear friends and good memories, but no career whatsoever.

Before I became a full time mother, I was a personal trainer at a gym. I liked motivating people to reach their goals and working out for free.

For as long as I remember, I have wanted to change the world. At first, I thought I would be a missionary doctor. Then I thought I would just be a missionary. Then slowly I started to believe the lie that changing the world was impossible and that I should stick to my simple daily life and focus on random acts of kindness to brighten strangers’ days. That was until a book came into my life that revived my old dreams and made it possible again to change the world… just not the way I thought I would. (You will have to wait for another post for that full story.)

This blog is part of my taking on the world. The way I have been inspired, I want to inspire you. I will be doing so by sharing with you what motivates me daily: making things and lives more efficient.

I have always been obsessed with efficiency. When I was fifteen years old, I remember having a discussion with my father (whom I am very similar to) that I actually planned a mental strategy for the quickest way to get my coffee done in the morning. That is a bit neurotic but that is how my brain works.

As a child, I was often scolded for being too bossy. I wasn’t bossy because I wanted to be mean. I just knew of a quicker or more efficient way to do things, and I wanted to help others. The way I communicated my intent was the problem. Years later, I have worked on the communication and I am here again to help you, I hope, find ways to live a more efficient life.

I will be posting at least every 7 days, probably on random days. I’d rather commit to a weekly schedule and give you quality content, than publish more frequently with less thought-provoking ideas.

I welcome ideas and stories that will inspire myself and others to live a meaningful and fulfilling life. Feel free to comment or get in touch. Join me in my quest for a well-run life!

Leave a Reply

