WellRunLife

Ideas and inspiration for efficient living.

Outlining priorities and goals

on December 29, 2011

What did you do in 2011? What will you be doing in 2012?

Don’t know?

Here’s an idea. Make a list of priorities.

I’ve been a fan of life lists for years now. Well, not just life lists, lists in general. They help me stay focus, organized and efficient.

Every January, I make a list of priorities and goals that I want to strive for in the new year. I’m not talking about resolutions, which die off within a week, like memberships at the gym on January 12th, but realistic, precise objectives that you actually make a plan to attain.

Last year I divided my list by specific areas I wanted to focus on: Me, My Husband, My Children, Work/House and Family/Friends.

Here is a peak at my 2011 list:

  1. Exercise 3 hours/week
  2. Run 3 races
  3. Eat a balanced diet (basically reduce my sugar intake)
  4. Read 36-52 books
  5. Knit myself a scarf
  6. Raise 600$ for a cleft lip surgery for a child with Show Hope
Now that the year is almost over, I can take a look back at my list and see how I did:
  1. I ran a lot from May to September
  2. I ran 5 races, including my first half-marathon. I’m very proud of that!
  3. “Balanced diet” is a very subjective term, but I did just okay. Until I actually limited the amount of sugar I buy every month and switched to fair-trade, it was hard to control my intake. I needed a concrete restriction.
  4. I read 28 books, I would have reached at least 36 if my brain was not stolen by a tiny uterus dweller starting in October!
  5. I finished my scarf in time for winter.
  6. I raised 375$ for Show Hope, so not quite the 600$ I was aiming for. When I set the 600$ goal, I knew it was pretty high and I didn’t make a strategy to get there. I kind of waited around, hoping an opportunity would show up. Next year, I need to make a specific plan as to how I’m going to raise that money.

What I have learned from my successes and failures: some goals were realistic, some were idealistic, and one I know I didn’t work enough at.

As I make my list for 2012, I will pull out my life list and my 5 year list. More on that in the next post.

What about you? How was 2011 for you? Did you have objectives? Did you reach them? What worked, what didn’t?

Leave a Reply

