WellRunLife

Ideas and inspiration for efficient living.

Housekeeping and the iron fence

on March 16, 2012

I stink at cleaning. I wish my mom had passed on her housekeeping genes to me, but unfortunately, they skipped a generation.

I haven’t been a poor housekeeper forever, it began when I had children. Of course, some amount of letting go is to be expected as you add a new person to your family. But even as my kids grew older, I just disliked cleaning so much that even though I had more time, I devoted hardly any of it to making my home cleaner.

It’s not that I don’t enjoy cleanliness. I love it when I visit spotless homes. I also hate clutter, so clutter is not a problem, it’s the dust and grime that is.

After I had my second child, I really let my house go. It was still (mostly) sanitary. But I had zero motivation to bring it up to a better level. I figured, I stink at it, so when I can afford it, I’ll pay a housekeeper.

That is until a fateful day last summer. I was in my car, waiting for the road to clear so I could go through. My eye caught a repairman working an on iron fence. He was using a sandblaster to remove the dust before repainting it. The fence went halfway around an apartment building, it was tall and it had MANY rungs.

My first thought was that the cost to pay this man for all the work he was doing to restore this fence must be much higher than entirely replacing the fence with a PVC one that didn’t need repainting… In my mind, it was a poor efficiency ratio.

I also wondered, why go through all the trouble anyway? It’s just a fence. What a waste of time. Until it occurred to me that if this fence remained all rusty, it would be a massive piece of ugly metal. And if everything else around the apartment building was left to itself, it would make the whole surroundings ugly. It would not make people want to live there very much.

Here is thing: beauty is attractive. Order is welcoming.

Then I thought of my house… Was I making sure that it was pretty and orderly? Could I do a better job taking care of it? I knew the answer.

So what did that iron fence change in my life? My house isn’t sparkly clean because I have young children. But I make a conscious effort almost everyday to do something that will make it cleaner and more inviting. I’ve stopped using the excuse “I stink at cleaning” and replaced it with “It’s a privilege to care for my house to make it beautiful and orderly.”

Is there something that motivates you to keep a clean home?

4 responses to “Housekeeping and the iron fence

  1. Marie Eve says:

    J’écris en français parce que je trouve ça plus facile 😉

    Pour ma part, je suis une neat freak. Je passe la balayeuse à tous les deux jours, lave les draps 1 à 2 fois par semaine, les salles de bain son impeccables, la cuisine toujours brillante, les nappes et serviettes repassées, j’en manque pas une.

    Parcontre, je me rends compte que ça me stresse beaucoup. Je suis incapable de vivre dans le bordel, je ne me couche pas si mon linge n’est pas plié & rangé, et le bordel ramassé.

    J’ai beaucoup d’amies et très souvent je me rends compte que je trouve ça super sale chez elles! En fait ce ne sont pas elles le problème, c’est moi! :S J’ai clairement un issue avec ça. Je devrais peut être en parler à ma psy tiens! 😉

    Je me rends compte que moi j’ai le temps d’astiquer et de nettoyer, comme je suis à la maison. Mon mari est bien content de rentrer le soir et que tout est propre, calme et que le souper est prêt. Le faire au fur et à mesure libère aussi nos fins de semaine, on a qu’à passer du bon temps ensemble.

    Ceci étant dit, j’accorde beaucoup de temps et d’énergie à ça. Je vis mal dans la saleté et quand c’est mal organisé ça me hante et m’obsède. Je vais essayer de lâcher prise un peu là dessus… essayer de me coucher le soir même si il y a des miettes sur le sol… À suivre.

  2. Marie Eve says:

    We all have our own issues!!! Nobody’s perfect! 😉 Keep up the good work momma! xx
    Love your articles, well thought and well written. You rock!

Leave a Reply

